Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

Transport destruction cover save?

 Post subject: Transport destruction cover save?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 4:33 pm
Posts: 87
Location: London
Can someone explain the logic behind infantry without a save getting a 6+ "cover save" when the vehicle they are INSIDE gets destroyed?! Surely any protection offered inside a vehicle is somewhat negated by said vehicle getting obliterated!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transport destruction cover save?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 1:35 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 5569
The vehicle isn't neccesarily blown up. Maybe the tracks are blown off an it is imobilised.

_________________
http://www.troublemakergames.co.uk/
Epic: Hive Development Thread


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transport destruction cover save?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Jul 04, 2005 4:45 pm
Posts: 8139
Location: London
In epic units become casualties, not dead per say. So yes, immobilised, crashed, buried, part destroyed, blown up after the ammo cooks off etc.

_________________
If using E-Bay use this link to support Tac Com!
'Abolish red trousers?! Never! Red trousers are France!' – Eugene Etienne, War Minister, 1913
"Gentlemen, we may not make history tomorrow, but we shall certainly change the geography."
General Plumer, 191x


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transport destruction cover save?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 1:27 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2003 5:13 pm
Posts: 36989
Location: Ohio - USA
Quote: (The_Real_Chris @ 07 Sep. 2008, 22:11 )

In epic units become casualties, not dead per say. So yes, immobilised, crashed, buried, part destroyed, blown up after the ammo cooks off etc.

Yep, over 80% of AFVs "knocked out" are repairable ... Catastrophic destruction is rare ... Unless an AFV is burning, blowing up, etc. it will provide some cover/concealment.  :)

_________________
Legion 4 "Cry Havoc, and let slip the Dogs of War !" ... "People sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf."


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Transport destruction cover save?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:47 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 11:39 pm
Posts: 1974
Location: South Yorkshire
If a Vehicle is "destroyed" by a Macro Weapon the transported troops would be classed as being hit by a Macro Weapon too and would only get a save if they would normally get one if hit by a MW.

You could also refuse to take any saves on your transported troops that had a chance of survival if it bothers you that much,just don't be unsporting and expect opponents to do it.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net