Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Skimmers and assault http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11200 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | rpr [ Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:33 pm ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
Skimmer rule says that they can choose to use their firefight value in an assault (also forcing opponent to use). But does this mean that 1) both also use FF extra attacks/abilities, not close combat? (we have always played like this, but actually this is not written clearly in the rules) 2) if they are counted as FF, not base-to-base (see above), when hits are allocated, can hits be first allocated to them before proper base-to-base targets? (it would be sensible that no...) |
Author: | rpr [ Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:39 pm ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
(Hena @ Dec. 11 2007,20:49) QUOTE 1. Yes they can. What an answer :] As clear as rulebook... |
Author: | BlackLegion [ Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
Hm? So if a unit in basecontact with a Skimmer has CC3+ and FF4+ and a MWCC ExtraAttack it can use its CCMW ExtraAttack but hits on a 4+ instead 3+? |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:31 pm ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
They are in base to base, but not in Close Combat. |
Author: | Markconz [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 12:39 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
Yes, like Hena says. |
Author: | Chroma [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:14 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
What happens when a close combat "specialist" is based by two enemy units: one regular and one skimmer? Is the "specialist" still forced to firefight, even though it's in close combat range of another target? |
Author: | Ilushia [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:36 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
Although the wording of the rule would indicate they'd have to FF, my assumption is they'd still use melee attacks against the guys on the ground due to th what the rule represents (It VERY clearly specifies it represents them pulling off the ground, and the infantry next to them clearly cannot). |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 2:20 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
(Chroma @ Dec. 12 2007,00:14) QUOTE What happens when a close combat "specialist" is based by two enemy units: one regular and one skimmer? Is the "specialist" still forced to firefight, even though it's in close combat range of another target? The unit must fight using its close combat stat. |
Author: | Chroma [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 3:13 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
(Evil and Chaos @ Dec. 12 2007,01:20) QUOTE (Chroma @ Dec. 12 2007,00:14) QUOTE What happens when a close combat "specialist" is based by two enemy units: one regular and one skimmer? ? Is the "specialist" still forced to firefight, even though it's in close combat range of another target? The unit must fight using its close combat stat. But can't the skimmer "force" it to use its firefight while suffering the CC attacks of the other enemy? Where'd you get the answer, E&C? |
Author: | Markconz [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:06 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
I agree with E&C too, but what would be a strict RAW (rules as written) interpretation? |
Author: | rpr [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 8:01 am ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
(Markconz @ Dec. 12 2007,08:06) QUOTE I agree with E&C too, but what would be a strict RAW (rules as written) interpretation? If you are an evil rules lawyer, then it would say that the enemy must use FF. Anyway, I propose following clarifications to skimmer rule: - skimmer in base-to-base contact with an enemy unit during an assault can opt to avoid the close combat. If it does so, it is handled as being in firefight for all rules and extra abilitity purposes, not in close combat. Any unit with all its opponent units avoiding close combat must also do so. ..or something (I assume that if a skimmer avoids CC with imperial titan, then its attacks strip void shields first) |
Author: | Evil and Chaos [ Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:23 pm ] |
Post subject: | Skimmers and assault |
The way I see it, the skimmer may avoid CC, but the other enemy unit may not avoid fighting in CC, thus both are locked in CC, whilst the skimmer floats overhead Firefighting. Strict RAW, with a dash of 'It's obvious that the Skimmer rule didn't take this into account'. "Epic is meant for experienced wargamers, not experienced rules-lawyers" - Jervis Johnson. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |