Berkut666 wrote:
Ginger - I understand we have it wrong. If a formation comes under fire, its the back units that are suppressed. This is fine and logical.
However if the same formation then chooses to fire in a different direction, why would the units that were suppressed all of a sudden change? The gung-ho guys at the front all of a sudden hit the dirt?? We just found it easier for supression sake

And also a formation does not get to shoot once a turn, just look at the discussion above. Flak is a "free" shot.....
DISCLAIMER : NOT DISAGREEING WITH ANSWERS ALREADY POSTED !
The suppression rules as answered already work fairly well in the abstract way that EA rules work. Only becomes an issue when you have "specialist" units hidden in among "normal" troops (eg: flak.

) when suddenly the positioning of the enemy effects who can't shoot. But it does nicely mean you have to think who do i put up front (and get shot) and who lags behind and gets suppressed) meaning specialists/HQs usually hang out protected on all sides avoiding an ambush.
However this was basically this what what lay behind my suggestion that flak units should perhaps be suppressed based on the nearest enemy GROUND unit or maybe the direction to the enemy's table edge. Reason : as i see it the other "normal" units should be there protecting the flak from suppression fire from GROUND units (ie. also where the BM most likely came from) not from the AC. Therefore the positioning of the AC relative to the flak is not relevant for suppression but the nearby heavy bolters on the ground pouring in suppression fire is...
On the same reasoning, the range of the ground units to the AC is not relevant, as they are there as protection on the GROUND.
I realise this won't be adopted, but just my 2p. Seems easier to me and avoids arguments about cm precise positioning of 6mm figures.
***
In other news, Ginger's FAQ - seems a fine answer to the question anyway. Though i must say i think Kyrt's wording is clearer imho :
Kyrt wrote:
Q. Can Ground AA be suppressed?
A. Yes. Determining whether a unit is suppressed is done at the same time as determining whether it is in range, i.e. continuously whilst the enemy aircraft is making its approach or disengagement move. Units that are in range may be suppressed from the rear of the formation following the rules in 1.9.2. A ground AA unit may fire if it was in range and not suppressed at some point during the enemy aircraft movement.
Must say our gang of noobs is a bit surprised that such a fundamental rule is still being debated after nearly 10 years of playtesting. I have to agree with JTG on the point that rules committee's perhaps could and should wade in to re-write rules where they obviously are not fit for purpose.