Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

New to EA :- rules questions .

 Post subject: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:33 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 77
So please be gentle if I sound a bit stupid as I have only played 2 games so far and just need some clarifications.

So I DO understand that only by taking an engage action would allow you to enter an assault and use FF or CC but if you have entered an assault and unit is not in base contact but still within 15cm , would modifiers used when normally shooting for example -1 because the enemy is in cover be used eg FF 4+ becomes FF 5+?

I will probably have more questions as I play more but will add them to this thread.

thanks


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:37 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Posts: 867
No modifiers to FF, the -1 to hit is only applied to ranged shooting (so AP/AT/MW)

_________________
@MephistonAG for all sorts of twitter madness


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 11:39 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 9:39 pm
Posts: 77
thanks for clearing that up so quickly !


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 2:44 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:24 pm
Posts: 9658
Location: Manalapan, FL
Though defender cover saves do count in assaults

_________________
He's a lawyer and a super-villian. That's like having a shark with a bazooka!

-I HAVE NO POINT
-Penal Legion-Fan list
-Help me make Whitescars not suck!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:11 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 9:35 am
Posts: 3338
Location: Norrköping, Sweden.
Welcome to the great game of Epic!

_________________
https://epic40ksweden.wordpress.com/

"You have a right to be offended" - Steve Hughes
"Your feelings are hurting my thoughts" - Aron Flam


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:54 pm
Posts: 2279
Location: Cornwall
jimmyzimms wrote:
Though defender cover saves do count in assaults


Though only if you don't counter charge ;-) Again, welcome to the (pernickety) world of EA!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:48 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2010 8:39 am
Posts: 1097
Location: Alleroed, Denmark
Blip wrote:
jimmyzimms wrote:
Though defender cover saves do count in assaults


Though only if you don't counter charge ;-) Again, welcome to the (pernickety) world of EA!


If you're still in cover terrain after the countercharge, don't you still get cover saves? That's how we've always played it...


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 5:51 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:55 pm
Posts: 611
I believe cover save still applies if the counter charger is within cover at the end of the countercharge.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Blip wrote:
jimmyzimms wrote:
Though defender cover saves do count in assaults


Though only if you don't counter charge ;-) Again, welcome to the (pernickety) world of EA!

I'm not sure the rules say that exactly. Here's the relevant section:

Rulebook 1.12.5 wrote:
Roll 1D6 for each unit that may attack. Note that Blast markers do not suppress units from formations involved in an assault – it is assumed that the proximity of the enemy means that everyone joins in! Compare the dice roll to the unit’s close combat value if it’s in contact with the enemy, or its firefight value if it’s within 15cm of the enemy but not in base contact. If the dice roll is equal to or greater than the relevant value, then a hit is scored on the enemy. No modifiers ever apply to these dice rolls.

Each player allocates the hits and make saving throws in the same manner as they would when allocating hits from shooting. Hits may only be allocated to units that were directly engaged in the combat (i.e., that belonged to the attacking or defending formation and which were within 15cms of the enemy after charge and counter-charge moves were completed). Infantry units from formations taking a charge action may not take cover saves (they are assumed to have left cover to charge the enemy), but other infantry units may take cover saves normally.


I guess it depends on your definition of "taking a charge action". Sadly the rulebook is full of such poor uses of terminology - the action used for assaults is not "charge" but "engage", which might lead you to interpret this to mean a charge move, and yet counter-charging is not an "action".

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:45 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
if you look at the FAQ it states the following:

Q: Do the Cover Save and Cover to-hit modifier apply in Assaults?

A: Defenders in an Assault get the Cover save from any terrain they are in but attackers never get a Cover Save from terrain. The -1 to-hit modifier is not applied as there are never any modifiers to attack rolls in Assaults.


I think that's pretty clear cut, defenders get cover saves regardless of whether they countercharge or not, providing they are still in the terrain at the end of the countercharge move

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 6:49 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 8:54 pm
Posts: 2279
Location: Cornwall
Oops, my bad ! :-)


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:16 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 12:03 pm
Posts: 6355
Location: Leicester UK
weirdly when I look at my self-printed copy of the rulebook, that section quoted by Kyrt has the phrase 'units taking an engage action'

I can't be certain but I think my copy was the most recent one before GW pulled it from their site, incorporating all the errata....

_________________
Just some guy

My hobby/painting threads

Army Forge List Co-ordinator


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:43 pm
Posts: 2556
Location: UK
Now that is indeed strange, I copy pasted that from the updated rulebook. Mine is dated Oct 2009, does yours have a date? If you still have the PDF of course.

_________________
Kyrt's Battle Result Tracker (forum post is here)
Kyrt's trade list


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 9:33 pm 
Purestrain
Purestrain
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:04 pm
Posts: 5999
Location: UK
PDF text i have is engage action as well. PDF title (*not* file title) is: Epic_Arm_008-033 , created 04/02/2004

_________________
AFK with real life, still checking PMs


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: Re: New to EA :- rules questions .
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2015 10:14 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 3:12 pm
Posts: 867
Quick way to know is look at the 1.7.5 transport rules. If it talks about Inf getting a 6+ save you have the version Hena updated and got GW to host post 2008 review, If not they you have the original version from the printed book.

_________________
@MephistonAG for all sorts of twitter madness


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net