Tactical Command
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/

dark reaper in FF/CC
http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=14788
Page 1 of 1

Author:  luc.taesch [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:32 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

the eldar dark reaper has no ( small arms) line, still has 3+ firefight. can they participate a FF, and how do we count the shoots? one or two + per unit ? and in CC ?

Author:  Irondeath [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:45 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

The "Small Arms" and "Assault Weapons" entries are pure eye candy, for the most part. You don´t need them to FF or CC, just having a FF or CC is enough.

In order to get several attacks per base, the "Small Arms" and "Assault Weapons" entries have to have +1 (or plus any number) Extra Attacks" added.

A basic Inf, LV or AV has one CC or FF attack , WE have one attack per point of damage capacity.

To these, the extra attacks are added. See the Striking Scorpions unit for an example of infantry with 2 attacks in CC.

Author:  luc.taesch [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

thanks for this very quick reply
so an eight reaper fm has 8 shoot 3+ in FF ? whow ! superb for supporting assant. they first come and shoot the target , then the warlock come in in, and if needed, receives 8 x 3+ support fire.

so no reason for having this (small line ) removed in fact ?

Author:  AxelFendersson [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 7:58 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

According to the 2008 errata, "units that are armed only with close combat weapons and do not have any small arms or other ranged weapons may only attack if in base contact with the enemy" (emphasis mine). Since Dark Reapers have a ranged attack, they can also firefight.

That said, I'm sure I have seen units that have no ranged weapons or small arms, but still have a firefight value. Following the strict letter of the rules would suggest that these units can only fight in close combat, but from what I can gather, it's more common to play it that if a unit has a firefight value, it can be assumed to have some sort of small arms, and can make firefight attacks.

Author:  Irondeath [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:08 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

It basically comes down to this:

If it has a CC value, it can CC.
If it has a FF value, it can FF.

That´s the only thing that matters. Well, and having a LoS in the case of FF.

And yes, a formation of Dark Reapers is quite excellent as support!
:)

Edit: To add a rulebook quote, as one should when answering rules questions:

1.12.5 Resolve Attacks
...
Units have two assault values: a close combat value and a
firefight value. Units that are in base-to-base contact with
the enemy must use their close combat value, while units
that are not in base contact but are within 15cm and have
a line of fire to an enemy unit can use their firefight
value.
...





Author:  Dave [ Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:12 pm ]
Post subject:  dark reaper in FF/CC

Irondeath summed it up. The only time Small Arms need to be on a datasheet is if the unit doesn't have any other ranged weapons or if they have a special ability. Assault Weapons only need to be on there if they have a special ability.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/