Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
2 Questions to floaters http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=9798 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | darkangel [ Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:19 pm ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
i do not understand some sentences in the description low and high altitude due to the floater rules. the last sentence in the description low and high altitude says:"Template weapons may affect the aerial unit or units on the ground, but not both." does this apply when a floater shoots at something or vice versa? because i thought that only infantry on first fire or aa vehicles can shoot at floaters. template weapons can shoot at floaters too? ![]() another question due to high altitude. in the middle of the description i can read:"Jump-equipped troops can safely disembark, but not get on." does this mean, that skimmers can not get off? |
Author: | Dwarf Supreme [ Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:25 pm ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
First question: This applies when any weapon, presumably a barrage weapon, that uses a template fires at a floater. Second question: I think skimmers would be allowed to disembark also, like jump troopers. |
Author: | darkangel [ Thu Jun 28, 2007 7:58 pm ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
(Dwarf Supreme @ Jun. 28 2007,19:25) QUOTE First question: This applies when any weapon, presumably a barrage weapon, that uses a template fires at a floater. Second question: I think skimmers would be allowed to disembark also, like jump troopers. ok, but when barrage weapons can fire at floaters and fliers, why can i not find it in the description of the floater? there i can read under point 6) Hard Targets:" Only Infantry-class units on First Fire Orders, and AA units may fire at Floaters that are in the air (high or low altitude)." hey, it would be so easy to add "and all template/barrage weapons can fire at floater, too". and by the way do template weapons have first fire orders too like infantry??? sometimes i do not understand why there are so many lengthy explanation!? it could be so easy. |
Author: | Dwarf Supreme [ Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:06 pm ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
Theoretically, a unit on a hill can be at the same elevation as a floater, thus allowing it to fire at it directly. I believe the intent of the rule is to disallow someone firing at a floater and ground units at the same time. |
Author: | darkangel [ Thu Jun 28, 2007 8:21 pm ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
(Dwarf Supreme @ Jun. 28 2007,20:06) QUOTE Theoretically, a unit on a hill can be at the same elevation as a floater, thus allowing it to fire at it directly. I believe the intent of the rule is to disallow someone firing at a floater and ground units at the same time. no, i think this is a very dubious description, which remembers me at the old sm2nd rules. either barrage/template weapons can shoot at floaters/fliers or not! if so, then you have to complete the sentence under point 6 in the way:"Only Infantry-class units on First Fire Orders, AA units and barrage/template weapons may fire at Floaters that are in the air (high or low altitude). Psykers on First Fire Orders may use their abilities as normal." and then the sentence:"Template weapons may affect the aerial unit or units on the ground, but not both." would make sence at all! you know, i like it easy. can you imagine how long we have discussed this dubious description in or group during our last battle?! |
Author: | zap123 [ Fri Jun 29, 2007 12:53 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
It is just covering off the possible situation of an AA unit that uses a barrage. Currently none exist...don't read too much into things. |
Author: | darkangel [ Fri Jun 29, 2007 5:05 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
(zap123 @ Jun. 29 2007,00:53) QUOTE It is just covering off the possible situation of an AA unit that uses a barrage. ?Currently none exist...don't read too much into things. ok, so what do the rules say? can template/barrage weapons fire at floaters/fliers or not? |
Author: | Juffo-Wup [ Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:35 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
Under the current rules, no. The rules specifically state that only Infantry on First Fire orders and AA units can fire at them. As zap123 states, the line about templates is only there to cover the eventuality that the unit firing may be using a template but it would still need to be an Infantry unit on First Fire or an AA unit. |
Author: | zap123 [ Fri Jun 29, 2007 7:58 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
Good point....so if a Noise Marine on First Fire orders shoots at a Nightwing hovering over a Beastman, only the flyer is affected by the template, not the Beastman underneath. |
Author: | darkangel [ Fri Jun 29, 2007 8:18 am ] |
Post subject: | 2 Questions to floaters |
(zap123 @ Jun. 29 2007,07:58) QUOTE Good point....so if a Noise Marine on First Fire orders shoots at a Nightwing hovering over a Beastman, only the flyer is affected by the template, not the Beastman underneath. that is a clar statement! but why is it not possible to write it down in the rules? like you said:" if infantrie or aa fire with templates, then..." and you will have no dicussion about this!!!! |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |