Tactical Command http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/ |
|
Chaos Army Clarification Question http://www.tacticalwargames.net/taccmd/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=24517 |
Page 1 of 1 |
Author: | The Bissler [ Wed Jan 16, 2013 2:07 pm ] |
Post subject: | Chaos Army Clarification Question |
Hello! I've been acquiring miniatures to finally be able to field a decent Chaos army and I'm definitely getting there! That being the case, I've been reading up on the NE Gold Chaos rules but was seeking some clarification on selecting armies for play. It is clear that each Greater Demon counts as a Company Card, as do the Chaos Marine Century cards. I recall that under the original rules there was an obligation to buy at least 3 support cards for each Company Card, is this no longer the case? Also, under the original rules, support cards like Trolls, Minotaurs, Beastmen, etc which were not tied to a specific power could be added on to any Company Card even if it related to a specific power. Is this no longer the case? Thanks! |
Author: | Irisado [ Wed Jan 16, 2013 5:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
To answer the first question, I thought that too, but I couldn't find anything in the rules to back that up, so like you, I assume not. Regarding the Trolls, Minotaurs, Beastmen et al, they are only part of the standard list, so you would have to take them as support cards for company cards from that list as per the usual rules. It's not a major handicap though, as you can easily mix the standard Chaos list with the dedicated ones (read the rules on army composition very carefully, it took me a couple of attempts to realise the implications), and the Troll and Minotaur company card in the regular Chaos list is also really handy in its own right. It will be great to field my old Chaos army again, as I've really been struggling to get it to feel characterful enough in EA. |
Author: | Iterator [ Wed Jan 16, 2013 6:35 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
Nope, it's still OK to take Standard List support for Greater Daemons: Quote: 8: Required Support: Greater Daemons have a minimum of three Support Cards each. That is, you can’t take a Greater Daemon unless you also purchase three to five Support Cards for it. These Support Cards must come from the same Power or the Standard list (e.g. minions of Slaanesh will not serve a Khorne master). It's very rare I'll put together a Khorne or Nurgle army without some cultists and the like for numbers. |
Author: | The Bissler [ Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:54 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
Nice! I had been looking over the rules several times and somehow managed to miss that every time! Cheers! |
Author: | Irisado [ Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:49 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
Iterator wrote: Nope, it's still OK to take Standard List support for Greater Daemons: Quote: 8: Required Support: Greater Daemons have a minimum of three Support Cards each. That is, you can’t take a Greater Daemon unless you also purchase three to five Support Cards for it. These Support Cards must come from the same Power or the Standard list (e.g. minions of Slaanesh will not serve a Khorne master). It's very rare I'll put together a Khorne or Nurgle army without some cultists and the like for numbers. Well spotted, I couldn't find that either. Clearly, my skills at reading rules from a computer screen need more work. Just for final clarification, which page is this quote taken from? |
Author: | The Bissler [ Thu Jan 17, 2013 1:55 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
Page 7, top of the second column... |
Author: | Irisado [ Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
So it is, thank you. For some reason I kept missing rule 8, perhaps because it was just on its own in the second column, so I was thinking that there were only seven rules for Greater Daemons. |
Author: | The Bissler [ Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:57 pm ] |
Post subject: | Re: Chaos Army Clarification Question |
No probs, for some reason I kept missing it as well! |
Page 1 of 1 | All times are UTC [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group http://www.phpbb.com/ |