Login |  Register |  FAQ
   
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

company inside when using pods?

 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2007 7:26 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany
hi folks,

yesterday the first time using pods in battle..not very effective but funny...can you tell me if i can use pods without infantriy inside and drop them empty? i found nothing in the rules which say i have to put infantry inside!

i just have to take a company because pods are a special card but then i have the choice, because i could also put walkers inside the pods and there is no walker company at all to take...so the pods are not bound with any company, right?

next game i want to to use the pods to destroy the "open" warlock titan...a max to 16 times on his head with tsm -3...great deal, isn`t it?


regards kai


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:41 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
It is not explicitly stated, but it is certainly implicit.  Note comments regarding the Company losing its' transport vehicles to instead use the Drop Pods.  If someone tried that around here he'd probably get smacked.  :angry:

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 2:12 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27069
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA
Hi!

You cannot deploy a "empty" pod attack force. Its an old ploy and always an incorrect one, even in the old rules.

Technically speaking its only available to company cards.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 6:47 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(primarch @ Sep. 17 2007,02:12)
QUOTE
Hi!

You cannot deploy a "empty" pod attack force. Its an old ploy and always an incorrect one, even in the old rules.

Technically speaking its only available to company cards.

Primarch

i agree with you, it seems to be unfair to drop them empty...but how can i drop them with walkers, if i have to drop them with their company????


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 11:28 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 8:54 pm
Posts: 1134
Location: Southampton - UK
I'd let you drop dreads instead of a company's detachment.  For example if you purchased them for a battle company I'd let you deploy the Devastators on board and fill their pods with dreads.

I'd like to see a rule where it says that pods must be filled to the best of the players ability but not restrict it to just the infantry in the company it was bought for.  So it can allow the use of pods with support cards for that company. e.g. dreads.

Pods as dirty bombs is a no no in my books.

_________________
I am become death the destroyer of worlds.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:10 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(Enderel @ Sep. 17 2007,11:28)
QUOTE

so do i think too!

if you can drop them empty, then it will be an invitation for you to drop them on top of superheavies or titans.

i also think, that you should not have to drop the belonging company with the pods, if you do not want that. in my opinion it is ok to take pods to a land raider company but then you have to take at least 3 support cards of Dreadnaught to fill the pods...but now there is another problem...10 slots, but 12 dreadnaughts...2 left?????? so it must be possible to take only 2 supports of dreadnaughts...so 2 pods remain empty!

suggestions????


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:15 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:32 am
Posts: 87
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Empty pods are lost. Sounds like evidence, looking at mycetic spores.





Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:26 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(Ulmo @ Sep. 17 2007,13:15)
QUOTE
Empty pods are lost. Sounds like evidence, looking at mycetic spores.

that sounds ok for me, but what if i will not lost the 2 pods and put 10 dreadnaughts inside? want to do with the 2 dreadnaughts left?


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2007 1:36 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:32 am
Posts: 87
Location: Paris, FRANCE
I would say that they are removed. Unless some pods are available as support cards.
But you'd better check with more regular players.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:48 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I'd say the Walker bit is there specifically for the Desert Lions so you can take drop pods for their 11th Company and that's it.

;)

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 3:31 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2003 12:46 am
Posts: 27069
Location: Edmond, Oklahoma USA

(zap123 @ Sep. 17 2007,19:48)
QUOTE
I'd say the Walker bit is there specifically for the Desert Lions so you can take drop pods for their 11th Company and that's it.

;)

Hi!

You are probably correct.

Re-word the main rules and make mention of this under that specific company as its own special rule.

Primarch

_________________
Primarch


The Primarchload
Magnetized Titans Tutorial
Net Epic Gold
Heresy Rules


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 6:17 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:55 am
Posts: 470
Location: Germany

(zap123 @ Sep. 18 2007,00:48)
QUOTE

where is the problem to take the pods to a land raider company and put 2 detachments of dreadnaughts inside by loosing 2 assault pods because they are empty?

i think it is unfair that only one chapter could take walkers into the pods!

in my opinion 2 things should be changed due to the pod rules:

1) you can not drop them empty!

2) you can not target a unit and use the pods as bombs. example: 16 times on the top of an eldar titan...the only way to do so is scatter.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 8:00 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 2:47 am
Posts: 3065
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Sounds good to me.  Consensus?

_________________
Fire bad, tree pretty - Buffy


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 10:04 am 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 12:32 am
Posts: 87
Location: Paris, FRANCE

(darkangel @ Sep. 18 2007,06:17)
QUOTE
where is the problem to take the pods to a land raider company and put 2 detachments of dreadnaughts inside by loosing 2 assault pods because they are empty?

i think it is unfair that only one chapter could take walkers into the pods!
One could say it's the "personality" of that chapter. Maybe walker aren't flexible enough or too fragile unless some modifications made by this chapter. That could be a justification, but I've nonetheless no idea of it should be allowed or not.

1) you can not drop them empty!

Make sense. Pods are probably more expensive and less accurate than orbital barrage.

2) you can not target a unit and use the pods as bombs.
Right : there are units in the pods (or the pods are units) and SM is no cold blooded army.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
 Post subject: company inside when using pods?
PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:12 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 2:35 pm
Posts: 246
Location: Sheffield, England

(darkangel @ Sep. 18 2007,06:17)
QUOTE
1) you can not drop them empty!

2) you can not target a unit and use the pods as bombs.

I agree with both rules above.  

And I also would prefer the freedom to drop non-company units, and lose any excess pods.  There is the question of whether separating the companies detachments can work, given morale, breakpoint changes, and the notion that any company should be coherent on the field (ie. not a mixture of some starting on the ground and some waiting in orbit; someone might see this as too unfluffy?).  But then again how often do you play a company and make them stick close together in a game? (I just don't like fake company structures, but that's another matter)






Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

cron

Powered by phpBB ® Forum Software © phpBB Group
CoDFaction Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net