Login |  Register |  FAQ

Making my own castings [Need help]

Post subject: Making my own castings [Need help]
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:08 pm 
Brood Brother
Brood Brother

Hello
I recently did 2 sculpts of DKoK guardsmen. They are my first sculpts in 6mm (well basically the first ones ever done) so dont be so critical ;)

Bigger is about 8-9mm while smaller is 7mm.

My question is how I can make castings of them? I have never done it before so I would like to try it.

Flickr|Flickr#2|Brickshefl
"There ain't no thing as enuff dakka! Enuff's more than you got, an' less than too much, an' there's no such thing as too much dakka!"

Last edited by McJakub on Tue Oct 18, 2016 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Profile Send private message  

Post subject: Re: Making my own castings [Need help]
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 9:35 pm 
Hybrid
Hybrid

for infantry I'd suggest avoiding resin, it's too fragile for small, thin models, I'd recommend using casting metal, you'll need as a minimum some high-temperature silicone (gedeo siligum works up to 300 celsius and is cheap and easy to work with) and some suitable casting metal, I've had good results with tiranti number 4 alloy, although this contains lead, you'll need a metal ladle to melt the alloy in too, you can do it on a kitchen stove top if you have an understanding wife ;)